An introduction and some thoughts

Hi/Bonjour/Kia Ora,

I’m Cameron Campbell, I’m a Montrealer who is currently living and working in New Zealand. For three years leading up to this past November I worked in Christchurch at Lincoln University and since November I work at Otago Polytechnic in Dunedin; at both institutions my role has been as an instructional designer/edtech resource. Lincoln has just announced an open policy for it’s research and other resources and Otago Polytech has a CC/Open as default policy.

That done I guess what I think open means is shareable, reusable, free (or almost) of restriction for reuse and free (or largely – I have some internal debate about this). I guess my thoughts on this have evolved greatly over the last few years but at the end of the day I’ve always worked for publicly funded institutions so I find the idea that we’re locking away things that the public has paid for us to do to be quite odd.

Looking forward to reading what everyone else thinks.

Leave a Reply

